Pecky's Vauxhall Decoder

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Vehicle
    none

Reading an eeprom how too????

Right I'm completely new to this and spent the other day reading through the post and thought I had the general gist of it, so I bought a minipro programmer as it was suggested in a few posts, but its arrived and I've no idea how the tiny eeprom chip can fit on it as the programmer looks far to big for it, I'm now completely lost and have searched the site for an actual "how to" on the process and how to install the eeprom into the programmer and the reading processetc, any help would be greatly appreciated.

Regards

SWS

• Advertising

advertising
      Diagnostics.org.uk
      has no influence
      on advertisments
      that are displayed by
      Google Adsense

Vehicle
      Astra H SXi Easytronic 1.6 TP
      The chip is what is known as an SO8 package. This means Small Outline 8 pin. The programmer is set up for DIP chips. Those are larger Dual Inline Pin or Dual Inline Package devices.
      The following searches are not recommendations for any particular seller, just examples of the adapter you will need to use.
      For reading chips, have a look through something like https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FLG03f_ua5g at about 8m 40s for using the device, and around 21m for reading memory chips. There are probably better beginner guides on youtube, if you search for them, though.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/SO8-SOP8-T...8AAOxy7AxSJ2QQ
      https://www.amazon.co.uk/RHX-Univers...2&tag=duc08-21

Vehicle
      none
      Thanks for the advice, I ordered a adapter and a on board connector which attaches to the chip without needing to remove it but i'll get to that.