Pecky's Vauxhall Decoder

Vehicle
    Opel Astra H (Mk5) LHD 1.9 CDTi Summer Edition

Retrofitting Opel Astra H/Mk5 Twin Top (LHD) 1.9 CDTi with AFL headlights

Hi,

I am a newbie to this board. I stumbled across your excellent forum/website and your guide while surfing the internet for info about retrofitting my Opel Astra H/Mk5 TwinTop 1.9 CDTi (LHD) with AFL.

There are a two detailed guides in German as well (guide #1, guide #2), but they show some differences in wiring (connecting AHL-/AFL controller unit and re-configuring UEC plugs XE1 and XE2; UEC = Underhood Electrical Centre).

Question #1:
    Unfortunately "your" guide doesn't give any information on wash wipe (WW) / headlamp washer (required in combination with Xenon lights at least Germany). The German Guide claims that Pin 1 of the high pressure WW pump has to be connected to XE1, pin 46 (add new wire 2.5 mm² with 6.4 mm bracket to pin 46 XE1). Correct?
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	XE1 - Pin 46.jpg 
Views:	12 
Size:	50.1 KB 
ID:	994

btw: It's hard to find a pin layout/pin assignment of XE1 - XE3. Has the Astra H/MK5 XE1 to XE 3 the same pin assigment as Zafira B or are they just "alike"?

Question #2:
    Disconnect wire to pin 27 and connect to pin 40 in XE1 only for left AFL headlight. Correct?

Question #3:
    Add new fuse 10A in UEC slot #31 for left AFL headlight, new twin fuse 25A slot #9 and new relay above slot #9 for high pressure washer. Also correct?
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	UEC - reconfiguration.jpg 
Views:	14 
Size:	47.1 KB 
ID:	995

Question #4:
    The AHL/AFL controller unit is located in the passenger footwell (driver side LHD) near the door behind the inner panelling sill. In "your" guide the controller unit is wired/connected to UEC plug XE2. You have to run the wires through the "firewall" grommet between passenger and motor compartment/engine bay (glove box for RHD, space behind steering wheel/pedal for LHD).